Ode to Office Supplies: The Moleskine

There is one truth I have found to be universal about teachers: we love office supplies. Tape, post-its, highlighters, and notebooks are the tools of our trade. Want to dive into a never ending rabbit hole of a conversation with a teacher? Ask us about our pen preference (Pilot’s Precise V7 (NOT V5) Fine in blue ink) or our planner. Yes, I know iCal and Google’s calendar tools are amazing and I don’t care. You will have to pry my paper planner out of my cold, dead hands. And for my money, there is no better planner than a Moleskine.

Isn’t that sexy? One of the best parts about the back to school ritual is going and buying a beautiful, cellophane-wrapped Moleskine 18 month academic planner. I draw a line down the middle of the calendar side (on the right-hand page) and write down appointments on one column and the do lesson planning on the other for each day. I then use the lined side of the notebook to make to-do list, put together groups of students, and write down important information I need to remember.

About five years ago I learned about keeping a professional journal from a kindergarten teacher. The basic idea is that everyday at the end of the day, sit at your desk for 5 or 10 minutes and capture what you learned. Some days I have written several pages (mostly about keeping my mouth shut, not making snap judgements, not being an idiot, etc.) and sometimes it’s just one line (ex. “Don’t come to work when you feel this sick ever again.”). I also keep the notes from workshops I’ve attended or books I’m reading so that at the end of the year I have a record of my growth as a teacher.

Anyone else have planner or professional journaling tips? Are there other Moleskine lovers?

6 thoughts on “Ode to Office Supplies: The Moleskine

  1. Ira says:

    Been looking for the perfect planner and you have inspired me! I’m off to buy a moleskin!

  2. Jennifer Corroy says:

    You know how I feel about that planner 🙂 I converted a friend at Columbia this summer!

  3. […] thoughts. I’ve been taking notes in my special edition Education Nation Moleskine (holla! hitting my sweet spot . . .) and meeting some incredible leaders as well as fellow educators who are making real gains […]

  4. […] know I have sworn eternal love and devotion to my Moleskine planner (I’m not giving it up!) but I recently started using a really amazing list making […]

  5. […] Paper:Mate Sharpwriter pencils, Pilot Precise rolling ball pens in blue (V7!! not V5!!) as well as a new Moleskine planner. One of the first things I like to do is plan the layout of my classroom. I draw a floor plan for […]

Leave a Reply

