Exciting New Changes!

One of the 113 year-old door handles in our new home in San Antonio!

One of the 113 year-old door handles in our new home in San Antonio!

It has been a good chunk of time between now and my last post but now I’m back on the wagon! Since I last wrote, I have sold my house in the Rio Grande Valley, moved back to my hometown (San Antonio), and relocated my family out to Los Angeles for our summer gig at Teach for America’s Los Angeles Institute. Needless to say, it’s been busy! However, I plan on beginning to post regularly again starting today and to help with that commitment I am so beside-myself-pleased to announce that also beginning today The Sacred Profession will also be the blogging home of one of good friends AND teacher heros – Jenny Corroy!

Jenny and one of her parents’ chickens on her grandparents’ farm in the motherland (also known as Wisconsin)

Those of you who have been reading The Sacred Profession when we started last fall will remember Jenny’s amazing classroom tour. In fact, I’ve written about Jenny so much (here, here, here, oh and here) that it seemed like a natural next step to share this space with an educator with whom I share so much in common in terms of pedagogy as well as educational philosophy and values. Jenny is currently teaching 12th grade IB English at IDEA College Preparatory in Donna, Texas (where I also taught) and is the ELA department head there as well.

Plus she’s a total bad ass. This year she won both Teach For America’s Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching as well as TNTP’s Fishman Prize for Superlative Classroom Practice. I am looking forward to continuing those great education chats we started when teaching down the hall from each other here at The Sacred Profession – welcome on board Jenny!

Teach on, Abby

5 thoughts on “Exciting New Changes!

  1. Marisol Flores-Henderson says:

    Yeah! So excited to have you and Jenny back on-line. I”m eagerly awaiting updates. Hope you have a great summer.

  2. Luisa says:

    Yay! so exciting!!

  3. Jenny says:

    Hey Abby! Thanks for the warm welcome; I am excited to come onboard and to make the distance between SA and the Valley feel smaller. Congrats on the house!

Leave a Reply

